Federation Cup: Enyimba, Dolphins, Pillars win as Kaduna United, Giwa lose in States Cup Final

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”KF9LwMU6nMJXg0fuQBcsH9083Ls9L5X2″]

Kogi FA Cup won by Kogi United
Kogi FA Cup won by Kogi United

The much anticipated intrigues and thrills that accompanies the Federation Cup never faded as some attention-grabbing results were recorded in various states finals, most important for tens finals of 37 been decided by penalty shootout and only fifteen of the twenty elite division clubs won their finals.

Results of many of the finals played today across the Federation on Sunday, Kogi United yet again retained the title they won last year against archrivals FC Lokoja with a 3-2 victory on penalties after both played out a goalless draw at full time, in Lokoja.

The final played at the thickly crowned Lokoja Confluence Stadium was watched with great excitement by the Kogi State governor, Captain Idris Wada alongside top government officials.

In Ogun State final, Gateway United recorded a comprehensive 2-0 victory Remo Stars in Abeokuta, while in Port Harcourt, Dolphins overcame their noisy neighbours and NPL leaders Sharks 7-6 on penalties after both played out a 1-1 draw at regulation time to emerge victorious in the Rivers State Federation Cup final.

In Lafia, Nasarawa United were crowned champions after 3-1 whitewash of Police Machine in Nasarawa State Federation Cup final at the Lafia Townsip as Prime FC edged Ajiroba Ooni FC 1-0 to win the Osun State Federation Cup.

At the Warri Township Stadium, Warri Wolves recorded a narrow 1-0 victory over Bobbies FC to emerge champions in Delta State’s final, while in Benin, Insurance of Benin pulled off a 1-0 win over Dynamite FC in the Edo State.

In Jos, at the Rwang Pam Stadium, Giwa FC missed out on winning Plateau State Federation Cup as they lost 6-5 on penalties to stubborn enemies and second-tier side Plateau United.

Ranchers Bees of Kaduna managed a narrow 3-2 win over struggling top flight campaigners Kaduna United to clinch the Kaduna State FA trophy while, Heartland were 2-0 better over Police Machine in the Imo State final.

Gombe United thrashed Yarmalight 3-1 at the Pantami Stadium, Gombe to remain champions again in the Gombe State Federation Cup final.
All two teams involved in the state Federation Cup final across the country have qualified for the national finals. The play-off matches will be played over the days of 14th and 15th May.

The Draw for the National finals will hold in Abuja on 29th May.

According to the timetable for this year’s competition, the Round of 64 matches will hold across 32 centres between 2nd and 3rd July, with the Round of 32 matches taking place a week later and the Round of 16 games to be played between 16th – 17th July.

37 States Federation Cup Finals results for May 4
1. Abuja – FRSC 1-0 FC Abuja
2. Enugu – Ingas FC 0-1 Rangers
3. Akwa Ibom – Ibom Youths 0-1 Akwa United
4. Abia – Enyimba 1-0 Abia Warriors
5. Bauchi – Wikki Feeders FC 2-1 Wikki Tourist FC
6. Bayelsa – *Nembe city 0-0 (5-4) Bayelsa United
7. Benue – Apa United 1-1 Lobi Stars* (abd) Trophy awarded to Lobi Stars
8. Borno – El-Kanemi Warriors 1-0 El-Kanemi Junior
9. Cross River – Atlantic Warriors 1-1 (4-5)Calabar Municipal*
10. Delta – Warri Wolves 1-0 Bobbies United
11. Edo – Bendel Insurance 1-0 Dynamites
12. Gombe – Yarma Light 1-3 Gombe United
13. Jigawa – Jigawa Golden Stars 2-0 CBN Cashless
14. Kaduna – Kaduna United 2-3 Ranchers bees
15. Kano – Kano Pillars 4-1 Sky Academy
16. Katsina – Spotlight 2-0 Danburam Daura
17. Kogi – *Kogi United 0-0 (3-2)FC Lokoja
18. Kwara – Kwara United 1-1 (4-5) ABS*
19. Lagos – First Bank 0-0 (3-4) AS Racine*
20. Nasarawa – Nasarawa United 3-0 Police Machine
21. Niger – Niger Tornadoes 3-0 Nigeria Tornadoes Feeders
22. Ogun – Gateway United 2-0 Remo Stars
23. Ondo – Sunshine Stars 2-0 Greater Tomorrow
24. Osun – Ajiroba Ooni 0-1 Prime FC
25. Oyo – 3SC 0-0 (4-5) Crown*
26. Plateau – Giwa FC 0-0 (5-6)Plateau United*
27. Rivers – Sharks 0-0 (6-7) Dolphins*
28. Sokoto – Sokoto North 1-0 Liverpool
29. Taraba – FC Taraba 2-1 Jalingo United
30. Yobe – Unregistered for Federation Cup
31. Zamfara – Dallatu United 1-0 Marafa United
32. Ekiti – *Ekiti United 1-1 (5-3) John Kayode Fayemi
33. Adamawa – Unregistered for Federation Cup
34. Imo – Heartland 2-0 Police Machine
35. Kebbi – *Everton 2-2 (4-2) Zara Studio
Outstanding Results-
36. Ebonyi – Ebony United vs Bright Star
37. Anambra – Ikpeazu United vs Okagbue Academy