Alhassan Ibrahim scores hat-trick as Flying Eagles beat Dabo Babes

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”NWYSLAgbSBjPlmF24q4oeJ6mGoeERKqD”]

Alhassan Ibrahim scored thrice as the Flying Eagles defeated Nationwide side Dabo Babes of Kano 4-0 in a friendly in Abuja on Saturday.
Golden eaglets
Ifeanyi Matthew scored the Flying Eagles fourth goal.

“We’re just starting the actual building and coaching of the team,” said Flying Eagles assistant coach Nduka Ugbade.

“There have been improvements and we hope to be 40, 50 percent up to our full potentials by our first leg qualifier next month.”

Dabo Babes proved a hard nut for the Nigeria U20s to crack and it was not until the first half stoppage time that substitute Muazam opened scoring with a simple tap in.

That was moments after he had rattled the cross bar and also fluffed a sitter.

Dabo goalkeeper Abdallah Sulaiman also pulled off several saves including denying skipper Musa Muhammed in the 29th minute, when he dived full length to push the ball for a corner.

Kelechi Iheanacho failed to put away an easy chance in the 10th minute and Sulaiman Abdullahi saw his effort crash against the post four minutes later.

Iheanacho again tested the reflexes of goalkeeper Sulaiman two minutes after the interval, before Ifeanyi Matthew shoot wide in the 51st minute from inside the box.

Flying Eagles were awarded a penalty in the 58th minute, when Taiwo Awoniyi was blocked on his way to goal inside the box and Muazam converted the spot kick.

Muazam, who scored the team’s three goals in a recent training tour of Morocco, completed his hat-trick in the 74th minute with a powerful, left-footed shot that rested in the roof of the net.

Five minutes later, Ifeanyi Matthew smashed home the fourth goal with a well-struck rocket from outside the box.

Flying Eagles vs Dabo Babes
Joshua Enaholo – Musa Muhammed, Mustapha Abdullahi (Dennis Okon 47, Sirajo Mazadu 80), Wilfred Ndidi, Zaharadeen Bello (Aliyu Abubakar 80) – Abdullahi Alfa (Anthony Omaka 71), Akinjide Idowu, Ifeanyi Matthew, Kelechi Iheanacho (Wasiu Jimoh 71) – Sulaiman Abdullahi Muazam 31), Victory Omodiagbe (Taiwo Awoniyi 31)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *