Bayelsa Queens pip Nasarawa Amazons to claim 2022 Nigeria Women’s League Premiership title

Bayelsa Queens emerged the 2021/2022 Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership champions after a 2-1 victory over Nasarawa Amazons on Sunday at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.

After a poor 2021 outing in Ijebu Ode, Bayelsa Queens qualified for this year’s Super Six event with Nasarawa Amazons, Naija Ratels, Delta Queens, hosts Edo Queens and holders Rivers Angels, having ended the regular season as Group B winners.

Bayelsa wins fifth NWFL title

The Prosperity ladies started the six-team tournament with a 2-1 victory over Rivers Angels, followed by a 4-0 thrashing of Naija Ratels and a 2-1 win over Edo Queens before a 1-0 win over Delta Queens to put themselves in pole position for the title.

With just a point to seal the crown, a first-half brace from Gift Monday in the ensuing final match against Nasarawa was all Bayelsa needed to reclaim the title for the first time in 2018.

The latest league success was Bayelsa’s fifth title following previous successes in 2004, 2006, 2007, and 2018 and also marked their fourth domestic title in Benin City since 2018 after NWFL Premiership, Aiteo Cup and Betsy Obaseki Cup under the watch of coach Moses Aduku.

Gift Monday wins three awards

For Individual awards, Bayelsa swept the accolades as striker Gift Monday scooped the Player of the Match, Topscorer with 12 goals and Most Valuable Players awards, while Cameroonian goalkeeper Bawou Gabrielle Ange won the Golden Glove.

For their efforts, champions Bayelsa Queens received five million naira (12,000 USD) as prize money and will represent the country at this year’s WAFU B qualifiers for the CAF Women’s Champions League, while runners-up Nasarawa Amazons bagged three million naira (7,222 USD) and third-placed Rivers Angels got two million naira (4,822 USD).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *