Breaking News: Chris Giwa emerges as new NFF president

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”C85Az2hYFsJpJ39YRuz0fN7VJzLE8d4L”]

Christopher Giwa, the chairman of Nigeria Professional League club side Giwa Football Club, has been elected as the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).
new nff board

He polled 27 votes to defeat his challenger former vice president Mike Umeh who got two votes in an election where 29 out of 44 members participated in the voting exercise.

Before the elections, NFF chieftains including the NFF General Secretary Musa Adamu and some states delegates were arrested by the Department of State Security Services (DSS) and interrogated.

The elected officials were then sworn in by a notary public Frank Ike Chude.

Former board member Obinna Ogba was sworn in as vice president as he was unopposed while former security committee chairman, Effiong Johnson emerged the Chairman of Chairmen having polled 28 votes.

The North Central produced Yahaya Adama and Sani Mohammed as board members while Muasu Suleiman and Sherif Inuwa emerged North West representatives in the new board.

Felix Agu Anyansi retained his position on the board to represent the South East alongside Felix Amechi Ogwa.

Deji Tinubu also retained his position as representative of the South West with Otunba Sunday also coming on board.

The electoral process was not coordinated by either the seating president of the NFF or the general secretary Barrister Amadu who allegedly walked out of the election hall at the Chida International Hotels.

Also the vice president that could have stood in for the two allegedly also left the hall before the commencement of the election.