CBN Lokoja 2013: CBN wins 6th Bankers Cup after 5 years Wait

Central Bank of Nigeria Football Club (CBN), ended their five years of wait since 2008, defeating Union Bank of Nigeria 2-0 to emerge winner of the 27th edition of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition at the Kogi Confluence Stadium, Lokoja, the Kogi state capital recently.
2013 Cup Champions, CBN
Lokoja, the Kogi State capital hosted the top football Banks in Nigeria – CBN and Union Bank who went into this year’s finals as joint highest winners of the competition on five times with eventual losers, Union Bank stripped off the defending champions berth.

Coach Samuel Yachim led CBN FC’s two weeks of intensive pre-final preparation of in Lokoja was rewarded as their first half double saw them past their opponents, Union Bank of Nigeria to becoming the most successful Bank in the history of the 27-year-old competition.

CBN, the all-time highest winner with a record six times stormed in front through a 34th minutes effort of Adama Samuel headed home the first after missing barrage of chances.

Ibrahim Aribe slotted-in the second for CBN from the penalty spot in the 45th minutes to end the half ahead of opponents, Union Bank in the grudge match.

Unarguably a revenge mission for CBN after losing to Union Bank in the 2012 finals staged a solid defense to ensure a clinical victory.

First Bank of Nigeria FC won the third place after defeating Badawa Micro Finance Banks FC in a early bronze medal face-off.

Ogochukwu Okorafor, the Head of Corporate Communication at CBN and representative of the apex bank
governor Dr Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, expressed delight at the standard of competition and promised the apex bank will continue to fulfil its corporate social responsibility to affect lives in the Nigerian community and promised to improved sports and invest more in discovery future talents.

Winning coach Samuel Yachim, described the victory of CBN for the record sixth-time as “sweetest”, commending the commitment and hard work of his players to ensure the 2-0 victory over Union Bank and further dedicated the trophy to the governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Dr Sanusi Lamido Sanusi.

This year’s final was highlighted with the presence of former Super Eagles captain, two-time African footballer of the year and 1996 Olympic Gold medallist, Nwankwo Kanu, Dr Sanusi Mohammed, the Director of Competition of the Nigeria Football Federation and Mallam Abdul Adama, the Chairman of Kogi United and Confluence Queens Football Club and Mallam Adama Yahaya, the Chairman of the Kogi State Football Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *