CBN Lokoja 2013: CBN wins 6th Bankers Cup, Ends 5 years Wait

Central Bank of Nigeria Football Club (CBN), Saturday ended their five years of wait since 2008, defeating Union Bank of Nigeria 2-0 to emerge winner 20131130_180421at the 27th edition of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition at the Kogi Confluence Stadium, Lokoja, the Kogi state capital.

Lokoja, the Kogi State capital hosted the top football Banks in Nigeria – CBN and Union Bank who were going to this year’s finals both the joined highest winners of the competition on five times with eventual losers, Union Bank stripped off the defending champions berth.

Coach Samuel Yachim led CBN FC’s two weeks of intensive pre-final preparation of in Lokoja was rewarded as their first half double saw them past their opponents, Union Bank of Nigeria to becoming the most successful Bank in the history of the 27-year-old competition.

CBN, the all-time highest winner with a record six times stormed in front through a 34th minutes effort of Adama Samuel headed home the first after missing barrage of chances.20131130_173729

Ibrahim Aribe slotted-in the second for CBN from the penalty spot in the 45th minutes to end the half ahead of opponents, Union Bank in the grudge match.

Unarguably a revenge mission for CBN after losing to Union Bank in the 2012 finals staged a solid defense to ensure a clinical victory.

First Bank of Nigeria FC won the third place after defeating Badawa Micro Finance Banks FC in a early bronze medal face-off.

The finals witnessed the presence of Nigeria ex-international, two-time African footballer of the year and 1996 Olympic Gold medalist, Nwankwo Kanu as the Ambassador of CBN Cup, the Dr Sanusi Mohammed for the Nigeria Football Federation and Mallam Abdul Adama, the Chairman of Kogi United and Confluence Queens Football Club for the Governor Idris Wada of Kogi State and Mallam Adama Yahaya for the Kogi State Football Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *