Centenary: FG honours Queen, Lord Lugard, Macaulay, MKO, 95 others

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”L0JeaEtsfGGRhFufmn6wbSXhq9HTZdZh”]

AS part of activities for Nigeria’s centenary celebrations, the Presidential Committee on the centenary, yesterday released the names of 100 recipients for the Centenary Honours Award in 14 categories.
The categories are listed as: Contributors to the making of Nigeria; Heroes of the struggle for Nigeria’s independence/pioneer political leaders; pioneers in professional callings/careers; pioneers in commerce and industry; promoters of democratic transition in nigeria; heroes in global sports competitions; heroes in global sports competitions; Accomplished contemporary entrepreneurs; distinguished academics; internationally acclaimed artists, literary icons and journalists; outstanding contemporary public servants; outstanding bravery and public spiritedness, outstanding promoters of unity, patriotism and national development; exemplary service in the promotion of peace and moral excellence.

In the first category, Her Royal Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II, Frederick John Dealtry Lugard and Dame Flora Louise Shaw, Lady Lugard were honoured as contributors to the making of Nigeria while Herbert Samuel Heelas Macaulay, Rt. Hon. Dr. Benjamin Nnamdi Azikiwe, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Chief Jeremiah Obafemi Awolowo, and Sir Ahmadu Bello, were named as heroes of the struggle for Nigeria’s independence and pioneer political leaders.

Alhaji Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola General Shehu Musa Yar’adua, and General Abdulsalami Alhaji Abubakar, are being honoured as promoters of democratic transition in Nigeria.

Late Chief Gani Fahehinmi was honoured for his outstanding bravery and public spiritedness while General Yakubu Gowon, General Murtala Ramat Mohammed, General Olusegun Mathew Okikiola Aremu Obasanjo, General Muhammadu Buhari, General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida, Chief Ernest Shonekan, General Sani Abacha, Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’adua, and General Theophilus Yakubu Danjuma, will be honoured as outstanding promoters of unity, patriotism and national development.

In the category of Internationally acclaimed artists, literary icons and journalists Michael Taiwo Akinkumi, the recipients are Professor Wole Soyinka, Professor Chinua Achebe, Prof John Pepper Clark, Cyprian Ekwensi, Alhaji Abubakar Imam, Daniel O. Fagunwa, Ernest Sesei Ikoli, Alhaji Ismail Babatunde Jose, Kenneth Nnebue, Patience Ozokwor, Alhaji (Dr) Mamman Shata Katsina, Hubert Adedeji Ogunde, Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Stephen Osita Osadebe, Ben Enwonwu, and Oludotun Jacobs.

In the category of accomplished pioneer public servants, the recipients are; Chief Stanley Olabode Wey, Justice Egbert Udo Udoma, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Sir Adetokunbo Adegboyega Ademola.