CHAN 2014: NIgeria, Ethiopia clash in friendly, Abuja today

Nigeria’s senior home-based squad will tackle their Ethiopian counterparts in Abuja on Saturday with a week to the 3rd African Nations Championship starting in South Africa next week on January 11,2014. shehu abdullahi

The match starts at 4pm at the National Stadium.

Both teams are in the final tournament of the championship taking place over three weeks in three cities in the Rainbow Nation, and exclusively for senior professionals playing in the domestic League of their countries.

The Ethiopian squad, known as Walya Antelopes, play in Group C of the competition alongside Ghana, Congo and Libya in Mangaung, while Nigeria’s Eagles confront host South Africa, Mali and Mozambique in
Cape Town. Group B features Zimbabwe, Morocco, Burkina Faso and
Uganda, while Democratic Republic of Congo, champions of the inaugural
tournament in 2009, head Group D that also includes Mauritania, Gabon
and Burundi.

General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation, Barrister Musa
Amadu, said on New Year’s day that the Federation arranged the match
in order to give the Eagles an appropriate final build-up session
before flying to South Africa.

“We contacted a number of countries also heading to the 3rd Orange
African Nations Championship, and we are delighted that the Ethiopians
accepted our offer. They will arrive in Nigeria on Friday, play the
game on Saturday and depart from Abuja on Sunday,” Amadu explained.

Ethiopia got the short end of the stick against Nigeria’s A Team in
their African final elimination fixture for the FIFA World Cup Brazil
2014, losing home and away 1-4 on aggregate.

The Antelopes delegation, to be led by Yoseph Tesfaye, includes 23
players and six officials. The coach is Sewnet Bishaw, who is also
Coach of Ethiopia’s A Team.

ETHIOPIA’S 23 PLAYERS: Jemal Tasew, Dereje Alemu, Tariku Getent, Degu
Debebe, Aynalem Hailu, Thok James, Biyadiglign Elyas, Alula Girma,
Seyoum Tesfaye, Birhanu Bogale, Abebaw Butako, Asrat Megersa, Fasika
Asfaw, Mentsenot Adane, Salahadin Bargicho, Ephrem Ashamo, Behailu
Assefa, Minyahile Teshome, Taddele Menghesa, Omod Okwury, Adane Girma,
Dawit Fekadu, Manaye Fantu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *