Crisis As Two Speakers Emerge In Kogi State House Of Assembly

The political crisis in Kogi state has taken a new dimension as two members of the state’s House of Assembly are laying claim to the position of speaker in the house.

Momoh Jimoh-Lawal, the speaker of the state assembly was reportedly impeached on Thursday, December 10, alongside his deputy, Aliyu Aku and minority leader, Hassan Bello.

He was said to have been replaced by Hon. Godwin Osiyi representing Ogori-magongo was reportedly elected as the new speaker while Hon. James Eneche from Olamaboro is the new minority leader.

Lawal has however insisted that he still remains the authentic speaker. Speaking during a chat with journalists in Lokoja, the state capital yesterday, December 12, he stated that the move to hijack the leadership ofassembly by some few members was unpatriotic and at variance with the legislative practice and principle all over the world.

Lawal informed the journalists that he is still in firm control of the assembly, addidng that he has written to the Commissioner of Police in the state that the assembly complex should not be opened until Tuesday, Fecruary 2, 2016.

According to National Mirror, he called members of the house to remain focused and be committed to the ideals of the founding fathers of the state.

He said: “It is important to let the public know that though Ukwubile Achanu Ochejenunu of Idah Constituency attempted to move an impeachment motion with some other members”.

The speaker added that when the attempt was made to impeach the principal officers, there was chaos in the house, noting that a peace loving leader quickly adjourned till February 2, 2016.

But on Thursday, December 10, 17 members of Kogi State House of Assembly while addressing journalists in Lokoja, insisted that Lawal has been impeached as the speaker and replaced by Godwin Osiyi.

They said the Speaker of Kogi State House of Assembly, Momoh Jimoh Lawal has been impeached along with two other principal officers, the Deputy Speaker and Minority leader.

The Chairman, House Committee on information, Honourable John Abbah stated that the action of 17 members of the House became imperative in view of the demand to remove the speaker before now.

Abbah who is the new Deputy Speaker stated that the speaker was impeached because of incompetence, greed and betrayal of the members.

On his part, the newly elected speaker, Godwin Osiyi said the impeachment exercise has nothing to do with the political situation in the state. Osiyi informed that the house has been adjourned to December 16.

The 17 members that signed the impeachment of Alhaji MomohJimoh Lawal are : Hon. Osiyi Godwin Ojo, Hon. Ibrahim Abdulmumini, Hon. (Bar) Oluwatoyin Lawal, Hon. Eneche Ojochenemi Linus, Hon. (Alh) Musa Jimoh Omiata.

Hon. Prince M. O. Kolawole, Prince Zakari Osewu Mohammed, Hon. Omofaye Victor Adewale and Hon. John M. U. Abah.

Other are Hon. Edoko Moses Ododo, Hon. Obaro A. S. Pedro, Hon. Alfa Momoh Rabiu, Hon. Ndako Idris, Hon. Salifu Isah Idachaba, Hon. Hassan Abdullah, Hon. Ukubile Ochijene-Acharu.
an Hon. Umar Ahmed Imam.

The Kogi assembly is made up of 14 Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members and 11 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
Recall that violence erupted on Friday, December 11, at the assembly, leaving no fewer than five members and some policemen seriously injured in the fracas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *