Federation Cup Round of 16 draws hold on Tuesday

The draw ceremony for the 2014 Federation Cup for men and women will take place at the Fifa Technical Centre, Abuja on Tuesday.

Federation Cup
Federation Cup

Head of the Federation Cup Unit, Ruth David, said during the weekend that the ceremony will involve all teams qualified from the 36 States of the federation and the FCT with the exclusion of those teams that have been ejected in the national preliminaries.

The national preliminaries, which took place across the country on May 14, saw Liverpool FC of Sokoto eliminated by Dan Buran of Katsina, while Mafara United of Zamfara walked over Jege United of Kebbi.

Binani FC of Adamawa prevailed over Jalingo FC of Taraba as Sky Academy of Kano edged out Police Machine of Nasarawa while Tornadoes Feeders eliminated Indigenes of Ondo with Bobbies FC of Delta seeing off JKF Boys of Ekiti.

Bright Stars of Ebonyi nicked it on penalties at the expense of Okagbue FC of Anambra and Baton FC of Imo were victorious over Atlantic Warriors of Cross River State.

According to the timetable for this year’s competition, the Round of 64 matches will hold across 32 centres between 2nd and 3rd July, with the round of 32 matches taking place a week later and the round of 16 games to be played between16th – 17th July, 2014.

The quarter finals matches are slated for 23rd July while semi-final games take centre stage on July 30 with the final scheduled Agust 3, 2014.

Defending champions Enyimba defeated Warri Wolves on penalties in last year’s final in Lagos after regulation time ended 2-2.