Five Cities Host Inaugural NPFL Youth League

The Nigeria Premier Football League has unveiled five centres to host matches of the inaugural NPFL U-17 Youth League starting next February.

Lafia, Ekiti, Awka, Kaduna and Asaba were confirmed as venues by organising committee chairman Emeka Inyama in a statement.

Twenty teams will participate in the developmental competition kicking off February 1st across the locations.

They will be placed in five four-team groups, with each zone’s winner progressing to a championship playoff stage using a round-robin format.

Group stage ties will hold between February 1st to 3rd while the title decider draw is February 12th and matches slated 13th-17th.

Doma, Gombe, Kano Pillars and Katsina form Group A based in Kaduna with Lafia zone featuring Kwara and others.

Providing grassroots support and widening scouting networks, the youth initiative could unearth future stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *