GloNPFL: Abia Warriors unviels 35 for League Challenge

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”ZXQ9W9NAt5jEzDnRMlVILL018Yb0Z3BG”]
Emeka Inyama
Glo Premier League debutants, Abia Warriors Football Club of Umuahia has named 35 players for registration in readiness for the forthcoming Season. The list, compiled by the technical crew led by the Technical Adviser, Emeka Ezeugo consist of 20 new players as only 15 out of the over 35 players that shot the club to the summit of Nigeria’s club football could break into Ezeugo’s current team for the Premier League.

Among the old players who proved worthy after the team’s intensive camping and screening exercise include captain, Chima Uluocha who still skippers the side, Mohammed Garba, Sampson Chuks, Joseph Onuoha, Peter Onyekachi and top scorer, Chisom Chikatara while the duo of Marshall Okoro and Ndifreke Effiong crossed over from city rivals, Abia Comets.

Some of the new players include two strikers from abroad, Idriss Toure from Cote d’ Ivorie and Benin Republic’s Kuassi Judiceael.

Experienced continental campaigners like Emmanuel Fabiyi who captained Bayelsa Utd to the 3rd position in the Premier League last season and Abdulwasiu Sowemimo, who captained Kano Pillars to the semi-final of the African Champions League in 2008, as well as former Enyimba of Aba captain, Chidozie Johnson have also joined Abia Warriors.

Also among the new entrants are Ogbonnaya Okemiri, a two-time CAF champions League winner with Enyimba International and member of Nigeria’s supersand Eagles.

The 35 man list also contains the names of Onyekachi Okoye, Abbas Rabiu and Stanley Okoronkwo who has been recalled after spending last season on loan.

Addressing the players after their training session at the weekend, Technical Adviser Emeka Ezeugo admitted it was a herculean task to select the final 35 names as every player in camp did very well as the screening lasted.

The former Nigeria international, however, announced that his gate was still open for any player of exceptional quality and expressed confidence that with the boys he has selected, Abia Warriors will complete favourably in its Premier League debut season.

The full list of players

1. Joseph Onuoha
2. Chinedu Anozie
3. Emmanuel Fabiyi
4. Okoro Obasi
5. Walbe David
6. Nwabalogu Obinna
7. Chima Uluocha
8. Ogbonnaya Okemiri
9. Nelson Onyekachi
10. Chuks Sampson
11. Abdul Sowemimo
12. Amadi Obinna
13. Onyekachi Okoye
14. Chidozie Johnson
15. Salami Kingsley
16. Marshall Okoro
17. Ebuka Opara
18. Olumide Lukeman
19. Ugochukwu Obiegbu
20. Ifeanyi Onyeali
21. Ikechukwu Emmanuel
22. Peter Onyekachi
23. Chisom Chikatara
24. Idriss Toure
25. Arinze Okorie
26. Obarakpo Austine
27. Kuassi Judieael
28. Ndifreke Effiong
29. Philip Uche
30. Omosiwo Stanley
31. Stanley Okoronkwo
32. Amobi Ifeanyichukwu
33. Solomon Jock
34. Abbas Rabiu
35. Mohammed Garba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *