Writers’ Awards: Goal’s Oludare Beats Ahmadu to Nigeria’s Sports Writer of the Year


Goal Nigeria News Editor, Mr Shina Oludare was named Sports Writer of the Year at the Nigerian Writers’ Award held on Sunday at Terra Kulture, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Oludare took the top prize ahead of colleague Samuel Ahmadu (Goal), Pius Ayinor (Punch), Arukaino Umukoro (Punch), Bamidele Boluwaji (Complete Sports), James Agberebi (Complete Sports) and Victor Akhidenor (The Cable).

Sports Writer of the Year at the #NigerianWritersAwards2016 is @GoalcomNigeria ‘s Shina Oludare @sportingshina pic.twitter.com/l3AE5z4MJv

— Goal.com Nigeria (@GoalcomNigeria) February 6, 2016

In his acceptance speech, he thanked his colleagues as well as his family for helping him to achieve the award.

“I feel honored winning this award,” Oludare said. “I would like to thank my Chief Editor, Lolade Adewuyi for always believing in me. I also want to thank my fellow colleagues at Goal for their helping me reach the skies, not forgetting Samuel who was a nominee too.

“It has been a remarkable year for me and to win this award is unique. I want to continue working hard and keep improving as a writer and try to go on to win more diadems, individually, for Goal Nigeria and for my family.”

All of us at Goal Nigeria wish Mr Oludare the best for the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.