Idah are 2015 FOSLA U13 Cup champions, 20 shortlisted for Scholarship

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”2Tldp8trqQOdQWkvTux2O1lYGDKJouQK”]

Idah Local Government Area U13 boys have emerged champions of the 2015 FOSLA U13 Football Championship after a comprehensive 2-0 victory over their counterparts from Omala in Idah, Kogi state.

Winners, Idah Local Government Area (LGA) boys scored in both halves through Abdullahi Abubakar and James Sunday to nick victory at the Qua Ibo primary school field on Thursday.

The hosts lifted a gigantic trophy and cash award of N30,000, while runners-up Omala LGA boys went home with a silver-made trophy and N20,000.

The annual football competition which had the participation nine teams from Kogi zone within the eastern district of the state have been solely sponsored by the former President of the Nigeria Football Alhaji Sani Lulu Abdullahi.

Also speaking, the winning captain of Idah LG boys, Samuel Emmanuel credited the victory to the hard work of he and his teammates and promised they will sustained their dreams to becoming future stars.

The Former NFF boss and FCT Sports’ Director expressed gratitude to all who donated in various capacities for the successful organisation of the championship and vowed to sustain his vision in developing grassroots football.

Speaking separately, chairman of Kogi State Football Association, Yahaya Adama and chairman Kogi United and Confluence
Queens, Mallam Abdul Adama, hailed the sponsor Alhaji Sani Lulu for his consistent supports to developing grassroots football and expressed high hopes in the growth of the game in the state.

Among dignitaries present at the finals were the chairman Kogi State FA, Mallam Adama Yahaya; the Commissioner of Local Governments and Chieftaincy Affairs, Honorable Abubakar Sadiq Ainoko; Special Adviser on Public Private Partnership, who doubles as the Chairman of Kogi United and Confluence Queens, Mallam Abdul Adama; Nigeria Football Federation’s Director of Marketing Mallam Idris Adama; among others.

Meanwhile, twenty players have been shortlisted for an entrance test and screening for scholarship into the FOSLA Academy.

The selected players are Emma Peters, Sylvester O. Sylvester, Emmanuel Yakubu, Danlami Musa, Bigman Amana, Uhini Gambo and Samuel Emmanuel all of winning team, Idah.

Simeon Zakari, Solomon Yusuf from Igalamela and from Bassa are Hassan Abubakar, Zachi Victor, while from Ofu are Ayuba Usman, Mohammed Rufai, Danjuma Mohammed.

Picked from Omala, who finished as runners-up are Bala Abdullahi, Clement Edegbo, Saidu Abubakar and Sulieman Yunusa, while from Dekina are Adaji Timothy, Hussien Mohammed and Usman Meyanga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *