Kogi, 3 Other States Demand N408bn Special Intervention Fund

Kogi and three other states have made request to the Federal Government for N408 billion as part of efforts to address the challenges occasioned by the relocation of the nation’s federal capital from Lagos to Abuja.
The affected states are requesting for the special intervention fund based on the influx of people into their states from across the nation.

The states that share a boundary with Abuja are Kogi, Nassarawa, Niger, and Kaduna as well as the FCT.

Niger State Commissioner for Lands and Housing, Dr Peter Sale Sarki, who said this in Minna, said Niger State alone gave the largest portion of the land on which the federal capital is sited as well as the name ‘Abuja’.

According to him, if the fund is approved, the state would get N28 billion, adding that the state first initiated the move before other states and the FCT, followed suit.

He said initially the request was for N1.4trillion, which the Federal Government declined. Sarki said if the Federal Government grants the request, the money will be used in upgrading infrastructural facilities in the states that have been overstretched, due to over influx of people in the affected states.

The commissioner further added that between now and 2015, a total of 5, 000 houses will be constructed to provide houses to civil servants and other members of the public to decongest Suleja town. He added that the first 2, 000 units of houses are being constructed at the Zariawa Estate at Dikko, in the metropolis.