Kogi: Gov Bello Vows Not To Victimize Any Lawmaker After Resolved Assembly Crisis


The Kogi State governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, has expressed joy that the leadership crisis that rocked the State House of Assembly for a period of eight months has been laid to rest with an assurance that no lawmaker will be victimised over their actions.

The governor gave the assurance when he received the new leadership of the State House of Assembly in his office over the weekend.

“As family members, we have to forgive and forget with all that happened during the period of our misunderstanding which I believe is normal in life. What is important is that we have been able to resolve our internal problem without involving external body.

“My administration will not discriminate against any lawmaker over their actions during the trying period,” he promised. He appreciated the resignation of the former speaker of the House, Alhaji Jimoh-Momoh Lawal to give way for peace and progress of the state, describing the development as the will of God.

Bello however, urged the new leadership of the House to quickly settle down for business as the activities of the House were seriously slowed down as a result of the prolonged crisis.

Earlier, the new speaker of the Kogi State House of Assembly, Hon. Umar Imam had told the governor that they were in Government House to formerly present the current principal officers to him.

He also informed the governor that the election that produced the new leadership of the House was done in a peaceful manner as members of the same family.

The speaker promised that the new principal officers will deliver in their legislative duties in order to move the state to the next level.

Imam also assured of the necessary cooperation between the lagislative and executive arms of government which he noted is the surest way of facilitating the needed accelerated development across the state.

The new principal officers has Right Hon Umar Imam as Speaker, Hon Aliyu Akwu, Deputy Speaker, Hon Matthew Kolawole, Majority Leader, Hon Bello Abdullahi, Minority Leader and Hon Abudulkareem Kekere, Chief Whip.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *