Kwara: 20 PDP Lawmakers join APC, Gov Ahmed appoints 13 new SAs

Gong News: Twenty lawmakers of Kwara State House of Assembly, Wednesday, formally vacated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on whose platform they were elected to defect to the opposition All Progressives Congress.Atunwa-1-300x195

Just as the dust of the defection is yet to settle, the state governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed, announced the appointment of 13 Special Advisers. The defect PDP members includes the Speaker, Razak Atunwa, his deputy, Prof. Yisa Mohammed, some of the principal officers of the House and other members.

Speaking on the occasion, Atunwa said the 20 members defected because of the factions in their former party, the PDP.

The House is made up of 24 members. Two members, Hassan Oyeleke and Tope Olayomi were elected under the no

w defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) which has transmuted now to the APC.

Two members refused to leave the PDP. One had been suspended by the House, Hon Iliasu Ibrahim. Another member, Hon. Fatai Salman did not go. Automatically, he becomes the Minority leader.

However, the new Special Advisers to the governor which were announced yesterday include:

Alhaji Raheem Adedoyin (Government Communication Strategies)
Otunba Taiye Afolabi (Infrastructure)
CP Amosa Bello {retired} (Security Services)
Engr. Abdulkareem Ayinde (Local Government)
Hon. Samuel Bamisaiye (Forestry Services)
Alhaji Usman Ajape Bibire (Political Matters)
Comrade Bisi Fakayode (Labour Matters)
Mallam Ayodeji Ibrahim (Emergency and Relief)
Alhaji Yekeen Ilobu (Transport)
Mr. James Kolo (Revenue Mobilisation)
Aliyu Lade
Engr. Seye Ogunbiyi
Alhaji Ahmed Yahaya (Rural Development)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *