Musa, Emenike, Enyeama, Mikel makes Glo CAF Awards Top 10 list

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has unveiled the top ten nominees for the 2013 Glo-CAF Awards African Footballer of the Year.

The list of top ten nominees include four Nigerians: Mikel Obi of Chelsea, Emmanuel Emenike of Fernabache, Vincent Enyeama of Lille and Ahmed Musa of CSKA, Moscow. Others include reigning African Footballer of the Year, Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City, Didier Drogba also of Cote d’Ivoire and Galatasaray, Asamoah Gyan of Al-Ain (UAE) and Ghana, Jonathan Pitroipa of Stade Rennes and Burkina Faso, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund and Gabon and Mohamed Aboutreika of Al Ahly ,Egypt.

CAF also released the names of top five finalists for the Africa-based “Player of the year” Award. They are Sunday Mba of Warri Wolves and Nigeria, Mohamed Aboutreika of Al Ahly, Egypt, his colleague, Ahmed Fathy, also of Al Ahly and Egypt, Rainford Kabala of TP Mazembe and Zambia and Tresor MputuMabi also of TP Mazembe, from DR Congo.

Nominees in the other categories released by CAF include Nigeria, Ethiopia and Burkina Faso for the National Team of the Year Award and Al Ahly of Egypt, C.S Sfaxien of Tunisia and Orlando Pirates of South Africa for the Club of the Year Award.

Stephen Keshi of Nigeria, Paul Put of Burkina Faso and Manu Garba of Nigeria) are the Top 3 nominees for Coach of the Year Award while the Top 4 nominees for the Most Promising Talent Award are Ebenezer Assifuah of FC Sion and Ghana, Saleh Gomaa of ENPPI and Egypt, Kelechi Iheanacho of Taye Academy and Nigeria; and Alexis Yougouda of Cotton Sports Garoua and Cameroon.

The nominees for the Referee of the Year Award are: Alioum Neant of Cameroon, Haimoudi Djamel of Algeria and Papa Bakary Gassama of Gambia.

The Nigeria Football Supporters Club were listed for CAF Fair Play Award while ex-coach of Senegal, late Bruno Metsu and Morocoan International, Mehdi Faria were shortlisted for the Legend Award. The Nigerian U-17 team, Golden Eaglets was shortlisted for the “Youth National Team of the Year.”

The list is prepared through a vigorous selection process by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of CAF, taking into account the performance of the players for their national teams and clubs from January to November each year.

The Gala Night of the Glo-CAF Awards comes up at the Convention Centre, Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos on 9thJanuary, 2014.

Globacom has been the title sponsor of the Awards since 2005.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *