NFF Congress sacks Maigari-led Board

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”rcUB7uXyv1PM3ezgyh1qEER8wPyxpazQ”]

The Congress of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has impeached the Aminu Maigari-led Executive Board over funds mismanagement among other charges during its emergency meeting on Saturday in Abuja.
aminu maigari
In a communique signed by Obinna Ogba and made available to Goal after the Congress that chaired by the Chairmen of Nigeria Football Associations, Effiong Johnson and attended by delegates from the Football Associations of the 36 States of the Federation and the FCT at the Bolingo Hotel, Abuja.

The Congress unimously endorsed the immediate dissolution of the Maigari’s administration over selffish management of funds, manipulation of NFF’s regulations and management staff as well as boards.

The communique also confirmed the reconstituted the NFF Electoral Committee and the NFF Appeals Committee to prepare ground for election into the NFF Executive Board following the dissolution of the previous adminstration.

“The Extra-Ordinary Congress unanimously endorsed the dissolution Of the Aminu Maigari-led NFF Executive Committee, and immediate termination of the employment of all management staff,” the communique reads.

“The Congress also endorsed the dissolution of the Boards of the Nigeria National League, Nigeria Women League ans the Nigeria Nationwide League.

“The Vice Chairmen are to take over the running of the Leagues and report to the Acting General Secretary of NFF.
“Congress approved the appointment of Mr. Lawrence Katken as Acting Secretary General of the NFFF, pending the appointment of a substantive General Secretary.

“Congress bemoaned the unfortunate incident of the international embarrassment caused the Nigeria nation at the 2014 FIFA World Cup, by failure of the Aminu Maigari-led NFF to fully and firmly resolve issues of finance with the Super Eagles ahead of the championship.

“Congress accused the Maigari administration of abuse of NFF Statues in its constitution of the NFF Electoral Committee, by altering the list of persons approved by the Congress at the 2013 General Assembly,” the Congress resolved.

Meanwhile, the Congress has appointed a 8-man NFF Electoral Committee and 6-man NFF Appeals have been reconstituted to prepare for election into the Executive Board.

“Electoral Committee are Barr. Jeriak Rowland (South-South), Barr. Usman A. Usman (North West),Barr. EmekaAsogwa (South East), Mrs.Margareth Aku (North Central), Mr. Hassan Adamu (North East), Prof. Ademola Abass (South West), Barr. Chris Essien (South South), Lawrence Katken (Secretary).

“While Electoral Appeals Committee are Barr. EffiongOboho (Member), Barr. WaribereSonari (Member), Dr. Isaac Akinloye (Member), Mr. Thomas Awok (Member), Mr. Simon Gyang (Member), Barr. Queen Otarakpo (Secretary),” the Communique stated.

A High Court sitting in Jos, Plateau State, had on Wednesday, granted an interlocutory Injunction in a case filed by Mrs Baribote, restraining the NFF President, Aminu Maigari and the Executive Committee from managing, directing and conducting the affairs of Nigerian football pending the determination of the Motion on Notice.

Consequent upon that mandate of the presiding Judge, Justice P.L. Lot, the Minister of Sports, Tammy Danagogo, on Thursday appointed Mr Lawrence Katken, as Acting General Secretary of the NFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.