Nigeria may face Algeria, Ghana or Cote d’Ivoire for 2018 World Cup ticket


Caf has announced the seedings for the World Cup 2018 qualifying draw for June 24, with Nigeria, Egypt, Cape Verde, Congo DR and Mali all included in Pot Two.

African champions Cote d’ivoire are named among the top seeds, along with 2014 Fifa World Cup quarter finalists, Tunisia, Ghana and Senegal.

Cameroon, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa and Congo are confirmed in Pot Three, while Uganda, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Gabon and Libya find themselves in Pot Four.

With this, the Super Eagles are likely to face Algeria, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire or Senegal as they hope to secure their sixth World Cup ticket.

The seedings for the Third Round ties – to be held on June 24 in Cairo were determined based on a special edition of the Fifa World Rankings released on 8 June 2016 to allow the inclusion the results of the Africa Cup of Nations qualification games played between 3–5 June 2016.

The 20 teams will be drawn into five groups of four teams to play home-and-away round-robin matches with the winners of each group picking a ticket for the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia.

This round of qualification will be played from 3 October 2016 to 14 November 2017.


Pot 1: Algeria, Cöte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal and Tunisia
Pot 2: Cape Verde, Egypt, Congo DR, Nigeria and Mali
Pot 3: Cameroon, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa and Congo
Pot 4: Uganda, Burkina Faso, Zambia, Gabon and Libya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *