Nigeria name provisional Africa Women’s Cup of Nations squad without in-form Nwabouku


Nigeria women head coach Thomas Dennerby has named 48 players, without former captain Evelyn Nwabouku in his provisional squad for the next month’s African Women’s Cup of Nations in Ghana.

The Swedish tactician invited 29 home–based and 19 foreign-based players, with the omission of former captain, who led the Super Falcons to African glory at Namibia 2014 and has been in fine form for Rivers Angels this season.

Besides the reigning African Best, regulars called up are Desire Oparanozie, Joy Jegede, Onome Ebi as well as Ngozi Okobi, Halimatu Ayinde Francisca Ordega, Alaba Jonathan, Tochukwu Oluehi, Joy Jegede and Onome Ebi.

Despite an uninspiring U20 Women’s World Cup outing in France, Rasheedat Ajibade, Glory Ogbonna, Anam Imo, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Glory Ogbonna were promoted to the team to take part in the first phase of preparations.

All the invited players have been asked to report at the Jubilee Chalets, Chalet Road, off Obafemi Awolowo Road, Epe Town on Thursday as the Super Falcons will be making their 11th appearance at the biennial football showpiece.

The Super Falcons will on October 21 know their opponents in the group stages of the tournament which is billed to hold from November 17 – December 1, 2018.

Nigeria would be hoping to win their defend the African title they won two years ago in Cameroon and also qualify for next year’s Fifa Women’s World Cup in France.


Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Maureen Okpala (Confluence Queens); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Juliet Lorliam (Nasarawa Amazons); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Midfielders: Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Christy Ucheibe (Nasarawa Amazons); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars); Peace Efih (Edo Queens); Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens); Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Nneka Julius (Edo Queens); Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens); Mary Anjor (Osun Babes); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Christy Adule (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden); Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden)

Forwards: Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo Queens); Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels); Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens); Chioma Wogu (Rivers Angels); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Ebere Orji (Mallbackens Lysvik, Sweden); Esther Sunday (Konak Belediyespor); Uchechi Sunday; Courtney Dike (Oklahoma City, USA); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)