Nigeria unviels 30-man provisional World Cup squad

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”DGPmSB4SBMyJYdlsAlPIkkQ6xgWL33Ob”]

Super Eagles head coach Stephen Keshi has announced 30 players in his provisional squad for the 2014 World Cup that starts on June 12.

Super Eagles Coach, Stephen Keshi
Super Eagles Coach, Stephen Keshi

The African Champions will be making their fifth appearance at football’s showpiece and have been drawn in the same group with Argentina, Iran and Bosnia.

Prominent faces who made the 30-man list are Vincent Enyeama, Emmanuel Emenike, Victor Moses, Mikel Obi, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, while doubted suspects Ramon Azeez, Victor Nsofor, Ahmed Musa, while surprise returnees are Joel Obi, Peter Odewingie after long time of neglect.

Surprise uninvited players for the World Cup are Ikechukwu Uche, John Ogu, Imoh Ezekiel, Fegor Ogude and Sone Aluko.

The 30-man list is composed of 25 foreign-based and 5 home based players.

There are four goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and ten strikers.

Stephen Keshi is expected to trim the list to 23 that will represent Nigeria at the World Cup finals in Brazil by June 2.

Full Squad

Goal Keepers – Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim (Gombe Utd), Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves).

Defenders – Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo, Joseph Yobo, Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars).

Midfielders – John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi (Rangers Int’l), Sunday Mba, Gabriel Rueben, Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi, Michael Uchebo.

Attackers – Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emanuel Emenike, Victor Nsofor, Osaze Odemwingie,
Michael Babatunde, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Nwofor Uche.