NIPOST strike: Government sets up committee

The Federal Government has set up a committee to look into the demands of the National Union of Post and Telecommunications Employees (NUPTE).

The members of the committee, which is to report back to the Minister of Labour and productivity, Emeka Wogu, within two months, are representatives of the NUPTE and the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity.

This is contained a communique issued in Abuja on Thursday and made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

NAN reports that the decision was reached at a meeting attended by Wogu, Henry Akpan, the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Communication Technology; representatives of NIPOST management and the union.

The communique said the meeting resolved to anchor the contents of agreement between the union and NIPOST management on a valid Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) as there was no valid CBA in existence between NIPOST and NUPTE before now.

It said the meeting also resolved that the agreement should be anchored on derivable Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) by NIPOST to facilitate implementation.

“Item No. 1 should be properly phased out in terms of rate and quantum of payment for each year based on projected and sustainable IGR.

“That, in view of the fact that rent enhancement was currently enjoyed by personnel of NIPOST from GL 14 and above, same benefits may be extended to the lower cadre but should be equally anchored on realisable and sustainable IGR

“Based on the above, a committee driven by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Communication Technology shall work out the financial details and implications.

“In consideration of the above, the three-day warning strike is hereby formally suspended,’’ it said.

The communique said the meeting also agreed that proper phasing of payments pertaining to items one and two of the Communique be worked out and reverted to the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity within two months.

Present at the meeting were Sunday Alhassan, the NUPTE National President; Ibrahim Mori, Post Master General; Henry Akpan, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communication Technology and Mrs Chinedu Dike, Ministry of Labour and Productivity.

NAN recalls that NIPOST workers began the three-day warning strike on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *