NPFL: Rangers, Lobi Stars, Nasarawa United and Kwara United fail venue test

Five Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) clubs have failed to meet the infrastructure requirement of club licensing regulation and would be playing their home matches in venues approved by the Interim Management Committee (IMC).

Enugu Rangers, Kwara United, Niger Tornadoes, Lobi Stars, and Nasarawa United are the clubs that failed to provide up-to-standard stadiums and facilities to host matches on the requirement of the club licensing.

Nasarawa United would now play their home games at the New Jos Township Stadium. Kwara United would play at the Lekan Salami Stadium in Ibadan. Enugu Rangers would play at the Awka City Stadium while Niger Tornadoes would use the Ahmadu Bello Stadium in Kaduna.

The new NPFL season is due to kick off on January 8, 2023, with each of the 20 participating clubs receiving a 10 million Naira take-off grant.

The 20 clubs have been drawn into two groups of ten teams in an abridged league format. The top three teams from each group will play the season-ending Super Six to determine the Champions and continental placements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *