Oluyole Warriors qualifies for Premier League Final Four

Oyo State basketball team, Oluyole Warriors have qualified for the Final four of the Nigeria Premier Basketball League despite playing in the league for the first time in fourteen years.

The players and officials heaped praises on the Oyo State Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi and the Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Mr. Adedapo Lam-Adesina for the unprecedented support they received following their qualifications.

Oluyole Warriors recorded another great achievement with the qualifications for the Final four of the Nigeria Premier Basketball League following the last round of matches in the regular season of the League.

The highly elated players erupted in joy as the qualification of the team was officially confirmed on Wednesday after their last match against Police Baton of Lagos.

Team Captain, Femi Adekanye who spoke on behalf of the players said they were indeed grateful to Senator Abiola Ajimobi and Mr. Adedapo Lam-Adesina in particular for his efforts in supporting the team and they are delivering the Final Four ticket to welcome him back from his official leave and to appreciate the basketball fans in the state.

“We recalled all the efforts of the Commissioner, Mr. Adedapo Lam-Adesina and the State Government in supporting the team, were are glad to deliver the Final Four ticket to welcome him back from leave even as we look forward for more support”

Adekanye said determination and support received were key to the success recorded so far by the team while promising that the team will not rest until the trophy is brought back to Ibadan.

Speaking in the same vein, chief coach of the team, Yemi Abiodun was full of praises to the State Governor for backing the team saying with the kind of welfare package being given many players are now eager to play for the team.

“Because we are just coming back from relegation after thirteen years, many big players do not want to play for us thinking were are not ready but with the motivation received from Government our boys gave their best and many players now want to play for us when they heard how much we are paying”

He said their ultimate ambition is to become Nigeria champions by winning the Final four.

Dodan Warriors, Union Bank and Oluyole Warriors have all booked their place in the final four while the final slot will be filled by the winner between Royal Hoppers of Port Harcourt and Islanders from Lagos.

The Atlantic Conference final four will start in Lagos on Tuesday 6th August at the indoor Sports Hall of the National Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *