Osun 2014: Rauf Aregbesola emerges winner, floors Omisore in Guber Election

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”aBPHIwucpWEdEkBidXsrndWDPEa3daUq”]

Rauf Aregbesola, the Osun State governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won Saturday’s governorship election.

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Iyiola Omisore in the Saturday, August 9 governorship election, polling 394,684 votes.

Aregbesola, won in over two third of the 30 Local Government Areas of the State while the PDP candidate, Omisore, polled 292,747.

The Labour Party (LP) candidate, Fatai Akinbade, only managed to garner 8,898 votes to come third.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer for Osun State governorship election, Prof Bamitale Omole, Vice Chancellor of the Obafemi Awolowo University, announced the result.

“Ogbeni Rauf .A. Aregbesola of APC having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” the Returning officer formally announced.

Aregbesola, won in Local Government Areas including Irepodun, Irewole, Obokun, Iwo, Olorunda, Oriade, Ola Oluwa, Atakumosa, Osogbo, Atakumosa West, Ayedade, Ilesha South, Ilesha North, Ayedire, Boripe, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ede North, Ifedayo, Ifelodun and Ede North.

The PDP candidate, Omisore won in Odo-Otin, Ife South, Ife North, Ife Central and Isokan.

Interestingly, some political bigwigs like former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola, who declared for the APC at the eleventh hour; former Minister of State for Defence, PDP’s Olusola Obada and Mr. Omisore’s running mate, Adejare Bello, lost in their wards.

The election took off on a peaceful note with election materials arriving most polling units on time.

However, there were accusations and counter-accusations by the major parties- APC and PDP.

While collation was ongoing, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, had called on the people of Osun State to guard and guide their votes jealously.

Breakdown of the figures declared is as follows:

Ilesha East – APC 16,116 PDP 5,913
Ilesha West – APC 15427 PDP 5,449
Atakumosa West – 6,128 PDP 5,142
Irepodun – APC 13,314 PDP 7,386
Ede South – APC 11,738 PDP 7,462
Boripe – APC 12,657 PDP 9,172
Atakumosa East – APC 9,134 PDP 6,293
Ede North – APC 15,403 PDP 10,427
Ifelodun – APC 17,447 PDP 12,476
Iwo – APC 21,093 PDP 15,435
Oriade – APC 12,523 PDP 10,214
Ejigbo – APC 9,942 PDP 4,422
Odo Otin- APC 11,950 PDP 12,902
Irewolede – APC 18,328 PDP 10,330
Ife Central – APC 9,680 PDP 24,555
Aiyedire – APC 7,834 PDP 7,828
Ila – APC 10,825 PDP 7,916
Obokun – APC 9,516 PDP 7,577
Olaoluwa – APC 7,927 PDP 4,913
Orolu – APC 8,558 PDP 6,786
Osogbo – APC 39,948 PDP 12,398
Ife East – APC 13,846 PDP 20,868
Aiyedade – APC 13,186 PDP 11,306
Ife North – APC 8,063 PDP 8,542
Ife South – APC 7,324 PDP 12,811
Egbedore – APC 10,617 PDP 7,022

387, 527 APC

285, 925 PDP