President Jonathan launches NFF Headquarters

A new chapter is crafted in Nigeria football history as President
Goodluck Jonathan (GCFR) will on Thursday inaugurate the brand-new
Football House, headquarters of the Nigeria Football Federation.

The ceremony at the gorgeous facility inside the Package B of the
National Stadium, Abuja will mark the first time that the Nigeria
Football Federation, founded in 1945 as Nigeria Football Association,
will be having a permanent home.

The football-governing body had operated from various structures both
in Lagos and Abuja over the decades, but never before now a permanent
home of its own.

Football-loving President Jonathan will be joined at the epoch
occasion by Honourable Minister of Sports and Chairman, National
Sports Commission, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi and a number of other
cabinet ministers, with NFF President, Alhaji Aminu Maigari and some
of his Executive Committee members and management to receive them.

Sports Minister, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi performed the sod-turning
ceremony for the Football House on February 21, 2012, and the
supervising architects have boldly proclaimed that the project has
been successfully completed without any variation in specification or

The 27-room facility also boasts a penthouse which is to serve as the
NFF President’s Office, as well as several meeting rooms. It sits
majestically beside the FIFA Technical Centre and the FIFA Football

NFF President Aminu Maigari said on Tuesday: “We are looking forward
very much to receiving His Excellency, President Goodluck Ebele
Jonathan (GCFR) at the inauguration of the NFF Headquarters. This
epoch-making event once again underscores our President’s keen love
for, and interest in football and the Nigeria youth, which he has
always demonstrated.

”The NFF and the entire Nigeria football is grateful to His Excellency for approving the project, and we also commend the Honourable Minister of Sports for his tremendous support to ensure the completion of the project.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *