Schweinsteiger wins Germany Footballer of the Year

Bastian Schweinsteiger is Germany’s footballer of the year according to an annual poll of sports journalists conducted by Kicker magazine.

Schweinsteiger received 92 of 527 votes, ahead of Bayern Munich teammates Franck Ribery (87) and Thomas Mueller (85).

Borussia Dortmund’s Robert Lewandowski was fifth while his teammate Marco Reus, the 2012 winner, was 11th.

Bayern and Dortmund dominated, with nine and five players in the top 15 respectively. Bayer Leverkusen’s Stefan Kiessling bucked the trend in sixth.

Jupp Heynckes was overwhelmingly favored by 383 of 517 votes for coach of the year after leading Bayern to an unprecedented treble last season.

Christian Streich was second with 77 votes for clinching a Europa League place with modest Freiburg, while 2012 winner Juergen Klopp of Dortmund was third with 19 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *