Senate President constitutes 65 standing committees

[contextly_auto_sidebar id=”AJkKp6LglvpWUK29DiKNMc8yApCD3KVo”]

Senate President, Bukola Saraki on Wednesday, announced the long awaited standing committees for the Senate.

In a breakdown of the chairmanship portfolios, the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senators got 41, while the Peoples Democratic Party,PDP, Senators were awarded 21.

On the Senate floor, Borno Central Senatorial district bye election winner, Senator Kaka Garbai of the APC was inaugurated, increases APC Senators in the chamber to 60, while PDP has 49.

A major omission was the former Senate President, Senator David Mark, who was not made to head any committee of the upper legislative chamber.

Among the top committee chairmanship portofolios, Senator Danjuma Goje, APC, was assigned to chair the committee on Appropriation and Senator John Owan Enoh, PDP, was allocated to the Finance committee.

while Senator Donald Omotayo Alaosoadura, APC, heads the committee on Petroleum (Upstream) and Senator Uche Lilian Ekwunife, PDP, secured the committee on Petroleum (Downstream).

Saraki is Chairman of Senate Selection Committee, a body of principal officers of the upper chamber with the responsibility to allocate the committees.

Saraki adjourned the Senate plenary till Tuesday, November 12 after the announcement of the Chairmanship and Vice Chairmanship positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.