Sheroes Cup: 12 NWFL Clubs confirm participation in Abuja preseason competition

The 2023 Sheroes Cup, a pre-season football tournament for female clubs in Nigeria is set to commence on October 7 in Abuja ahead of the 2023/24 Nigeria Women’s Football League campaign.

As revealed, twelve (12) NWFL clubs have confirmed their participation and as such, they are expected to take part when the Premiership level of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) gets underway which also serves as pre-season tournament in Abuja.

The current edition is scheduled to last between October 7 and 16, 2023, while the participating teams are expected to arrive October 5, with the draws slated the following day.

The participating clubs includes: Adamawa Queens FC, Bayelsa Queens FC, Confluence Queens FC, Dannaz Ladies FC, Delta Queens FC, Edo Queens FC, Ekiti Queens FC, Naija Ratels FC, Nasarawa Amazons FC, Rivers Angels FC, Royal Queens FC and Sunshine Queens FC.

The maiden edition for the Championship clubs happened earlier this year with Imo Strikers’ emerging winners with Edo Queens, Bayelsa Queens, FC Robo Queens, Delta Queens lifting the Sheroes Cup in 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 editions respectively.

Imo Strikers 2022 winners.

“The Sheroes Cup Pre-Season Tournament started in 2019 with the sole aim of preparing interested teams for their respective league seasons across Africa. This year’s edition, which is the sixth since its inception, is coming with a bigger advantage to participating teams, which will enhance the preparation of the various teams playing in the NWFL Premiership after a very long break from the field of play”, Ratels Sports Development Foundation (RSDF) resident Barr. Paul Edeh stated while in a press statement earlier this week.

From 2022, Sheroes Cup, transforming from Flying Officers Cup, the tournament has been segmented into two participation periods annually, with clubs at the NWFL Championship tier taking their turns on a separate arrangement from the Premiership clubs.