Wada Constitutes Committee on Prerogative of Mercy

Kogi State Governor Idris Wada has inaugurated a six-man advisory council on Prerogative of Mercy.

He said the members were carefully selected based on their proven integrity to consider the case of the 23 condemned indigenes, who are prisoners at the Kaduna Prisons, 16 at Jos Prison and 414 at other prisons across the state.

The governor said the constitution of the council was in accordance with Section 22 (A,B,C,D), which empowers the state government to pardon convicts or recommend a lesser punishment.

The Council has the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Joe Abraham as chairman.

Other members are Justice Samuel Otta, Dr. Paul Amodu, Bishop John Ibenu, Salihu Abere, representative of the police commissioner, state command of the Prison Service and the Solicitor-General, R.B Bello.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *