Waldrum names Oshoala, Ajibade, 21 others in Super Falcons’ squad for 2023 W’Cup

In a thrilling announcement, head coach Randy Waldrum has revealed the highly-anticipated final squad for the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, set to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

With excitement building, Waldrum has chosen to stick with the tried-and-tested players who have shown their prowess on the field time and time again.

The squad includes the formidable captain Onome Ebi, the electrifying forward Asisat Oshoala from Barcelona Femeni, and the skillful and nimble attacking midfielder Rasheedat Ajibade.

Adding more depth to the team are former Falconets defenders Rofiat Imuran and Tosin Demehin, as well as the talented midfielder Deborah Abiodun, all of whom have earned their place on this prestigious roster.But that’s not all! Joining the ranks is the tenacious Leicester City centre-back Ashleigh Plumptre, the experienced forward Desire Oparanozie, and the dynamic Francisca Ordega.

This ensemble of exceptional talent promises to deliver a thrilling performance on the world stage.

Drawn in the fiercely competitive Group B alongside Australia, Canada, and the Republic of Ireland, the nine-time African champions are poised to take on their opponents head-on. Their journey begins with an exhilarating clash against Canada on July 21, followed by riveting matches against Australia and the Republic of Ireland.

Four years ago, the Falcons showcased their mettle in France, advancing to the Round of 16 before being narrowly eliminated by Germany.

Now, with their sights set on glory, they are determined to make an even greater impact at this year’s tournament.

The full squad is a formidable blend of talent and potential, comprising goalkeepers Chiamaka Nnadozie, Tochukwu Oluehi, and Yewande Balogun; defenders Onome Ebi, Osinachi Ohale, Michelle Alozie, Tosin Demehin, Ashleigh Plumptre, Rofiat Imuran, and Glory Ogbonna; midfielders Christy Ucheibe, Toni Payne, Deborah Abiodun, Francis Ordega, Jennifer Echegini, and Halimat Ayinde; and forwards Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie, Rasheedat Ajibade, Ifeoma Onumonu, Ijeoma Okoronkwo, Uchenna Kanu, and Gift Monday.

The nation eagerly awaits the Super Falcons’ electrifying performances as they aim to conquer the world stage and bring home glory to Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *